best snooker player ever

Great snooker players

Ronnie O’Sullivan

Ronnie O’Sullivan is a professional snooker player who plays for England. He began playing snooker at age seven and soon became a notable player and competitor. After turning professional in 1992 at the age of 16, he won 74 of his 76 qualifying matches, including 36 consecutive victories. Ronnie O’Sullivan is the youngest Masters champion in history.

O’Sullivan has gained the nickname “The Rocket” after winning a best-of-nine frame match in a record 43 minutes during his debut season as a professional. He is known for his quick and attacking style of play. He is right-handed but can play to a high standard with his left hand, enabling him to attempt shots with his left hand that would otherwise require a rest or spider.

Stephen Hendry

Stephen Hendry is a professional snooker player who plays for Scotland and a commentator for the BBC and ITV. Hendry started playing snooker when he was 12 after his father gifted him a child-sized snooker table as a Christmas present. He has been the World Champion seven times and holds the record for the most seasons as world number one. His first world title at the age of 21 made him the youngest-ever world champion. He has won 75 professional titles, listing him second on the all-time list, behind Steve Davis. He has also won four team titles as well as several amateur titles.

Steve Davis

Steve Davis is a retired professional snooker player who played for England. Davis’s father Bill introduced him to snooker at the age of 12. After this, he began playing at the Luciana Snooker Club in Romford. His professional career spanned over 38 seasons from 1978 until 2016. In addition to winning the World title six times, he has also won the UK Championship six times and the Masters three times for a total of 15 Triple Crown titles, placing him third on the all-time list behind O’Sullivan and Hendry.

Apart from snooker, Davis has competed in nine-ball pool tournaments. He is a chess and poker player who has served as the President of the British Chess Federation for five years between 1996 and 2001. Davis is also a founding member of an electronic music band, The Utopia Strong. He has authored or co-authored publications on snooker, chess, cooking and, music.

Alex Higgins

Alex Higgins was a Northern Irish professional snooker player who is remembered as one of the most iconic figures in the game. Higgins started playing at the age of 11 in the Jampot club in his native Sandy Row area of South Belfast and later in the YMCA. He has been nicknamed “Hurricane Higgins” because of his fast play. Alex Higgins was the world champion in 1972 and 1982 and runner-up in 1976 and 1980. Higgins won the UK Championship in 1983 and the Masters in 1978 and 1981. He came to be known as the “People’s Champion” because of his popularity. Higgins’s speed around the table and his ability to pot balls at a rapid rate earned him the nickname “Hurricane Higgins”.His unusual cueing technique includes a body swerve and movement, as well as a stance.

John Higgins

John Higgins is a professional snooker player who plays for Scotland. Higgins turned professional in 1992 and reached the quarter-finals of the British Open during his first season on the professional tour. Since turning professional in 1992, he has won four World Championships, three UK Championships, and two Masters titles for a total of nine Triple Crown titles. He has won 31 career-ranking titles, putting him in third place on the all-time list behind O’Sullivan and Hendry.

Joe Davis

Joe Davis was an English professional snooker player and English billiards player. Davis started playing English Billiards at the age of eleven and scored his first-century break in billiards at 12 in an exhibition game against Dickens. Davis became a professional billiards player in 1919 at the age of 18 and was the dominant figure in snooker from the 1920s to the 1950s. Davis won the first 15 championships from 1927 to 1946 and remained the only undefeated player in World Snooker Championship history. He was the World Billiards Champion four times between 1928 and 1932. He was the first person to win world titles in both billiards and snooker.

Ray Reardon

Ray Reardon is a Welsh retired professional snooker player. He was introduced to snooker by his uncle when he was eight years old. By the age of ten, he was practising cue sports twice weekly at Tredegar Workmen’s Institute as well as on a scaled-down billiard table at home. He turned professional in 1967. Reardon won the World Snooker Championship on six occasions. He also won more than a dozen other tournaments. When the snooker world rankings were introduced in 1976, Reardon was the first number one, retaining that position until 1982. Reardon is currently the President of the golf club in Churston.

Mark Williams

Mark Williams is a Welsh professional snooker player. He started playing snooker at an early age and won his first junior event when he was eleven years old. This was the moment he realized that he wanted to pursue a career as a snooker player. He scored his century break when he was thirteen. Williams is a three-time world champion, winning in 2000, 2003 and 2018. He has earned the nickname “The Welsh Potting Machine”. Williams has been ranked the world number one player for three seasons. After Davis and Hendry, he became the third player to win all three Triple Crown events in one season. The first left-handed player to win the World Championship, Williams has won 24 ranking tournaments overall.

Mark Selby

Mark Selby is an English professional snooker player who is a four-time and the reigning World Snooker Champion. Selby began playing pool at the age of eight and snooker aged nine. He has won 20 ranking titles in the current world number one, placing him seventh on the all-time list of ranking tournament winners. In addition to winning four world titles, he has won the Masters three times and the UK Championship twice for a total of nine Triple Crown titles, putting him on par with Higgins and behind O’Sullivan, Hendry and, Steve Davis.

Jimmy White

Jimmy White is an English senior snooker player who has won three seniors World Titles. He has been nicknamed “The Whirlwind” because of his fluid, attacking style of play. He is the 1980 World Amateur Champion, 2009 Six-red World Champion, three-time World Seniors Champion and 1984 World Doubles Champion with Alex Higgins.

He has won two of snooker’s three majors: the UK Championship and the Masters, with ten ranking events. He is currently tenth on the all-time list of ranking event winners. He reached six world Championship finals but never won the event. He won the Nations Cup and the World Cup with England. White was also the first left-handed player and the second player to record a maximum break at the World Championship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *