Skip to content

Top 10 Best Hockey Players of All Time

10. Florian Kunz

Florian Kunz was born in 1972 who is a German former field hockey player. Made his debut in international hockey in the year 1992 and also captained his German team at the international level. Kunz is known for his defence in the game of Field hockey. Also, led his team in the 2002 Men’s Hockey world cup to win the Gold medal. Also, won 2 Gold medals in the Champions trophy for his team. Played a total of 228 matches in his entire career and made retirement in the year 2004.

9. Alyson Annan

Alyson Regina Annan Oam is a former Australian field hockey player who played nearly 228 international matches for the Women’s team and scored over 166 goals. Led the Women’s Australian Team in the 2000 Summer Olympics. Then, she retired and moved to the Netherlands and played for the clubs. In 2003, made her retirement as a player and became the Dutch league Team coach. Became Assistant Dutch Head Coach for the Dutch team at the Athens 2004 Summer Olympics. Voted as the Best Female Hockey player in the world in 1999 and in the year 2013 inducted into the Sport Australia Hall of Fame.

8. Dhanraj Pillay

Dhanraj Pillay is a former Indian hockey national team captain and a retired player. For his side, appeared in 339 matches and has scored nearly 170 goals that are recorded unofficially. Appeared for the National hockey team of India in 4 Olympic games, 4 World cup games, 4 Champions Trophy, and 4 Asian games. Played for the hockey clubs in various countries such as London, France, Hong kong, Malaysia, and Germany. Awarded with the Padma Shri in 2000 by the Indian Government. Currently, he is the Deputy General Manager for the Air India Limited and also Dhanraj seeing the SAG Hockey Academy for the last 5 years.

7. Ties Kruize

Ties Kruize is a retired Netherlands field hockey player. Total of 202 international field hockey matches he played and scored 167 goals in the entire career. Kruize is famous for his penalty corner which made matches win for his side. He was the world champion in 1973 and the European champion in the year 1983. Competed in 1972 and 1984 Olympic Games by finishing at 4th and 6th places respectively. Also played the matches for clubs and between 1977 and 1984, he won 8 dutch titles in a row. Announced his retirement from international fixtures after the Hockey WC in London in 1986.

6. Luciana Aymar

Luciana Paula Aymar is a former field hockey player who plays for Argentina. Also called the “La Maga” and “The Maradona of Field Hockey” for her ability to dribble skills and using pace to beat opposing players. Considered the best hockey player of all time and the only player to receive the FIH Player of the Year award 8 times. She is the winning team member of 6 times Gold medal in Champions Trophy, 2 times Gold medal in World Cup. Rewarded as the best hockey player of the decade of Argentina by granting the Platinum Konex Award in 2010.

5. Sohail Abbas

Sohail Abbas had played for the Pakistan Hockey team and was a former captain who is regarded as the “King of the drag flick”. Made his debut in international hockey in 1998. Abbas has proved himself as the most consistent drag-flick converter in the world by having a success rate of over 65%. He made 348 international goals which are regarded as the highest goal scorer in the International hockey field. Also the leading scorer at the 2000 Olympic Games, Sydney with 11 goals. After 14 years of his debut in international hockey for Pakistan, Abbas had become the captaincy for his side for the Azlan Shah Cup and London Olympics 2012. 

4. Ric Charlesworth

Ric Charlesworth is a former Australian hockey player and is an Australian sports coach. Represented the Australian hockey team for 5 times at the Olympics. He was a member of the winning team of the World Cup in 1986. Scored nearly 85 goals and played 227 games internationally. After the Seoul Olympics, retired from international hockey. Appointed as the coach of the national women’s field hockey team called the Hockeyroos and led them to win the Olympic gold medals in the years 1996 and 2000. Coached the Australian men’s national team or Kookaburras between 2009 and 2014. In the year 2008, Ric was inducted into the Australian Hockey Hall of Fame. Apart from Hockey, he also played cricket.

3. Jamie Dwyer

Jamie Dwyer Oam made his debut for Australia in the year 1995 as a junior player and as a senior player in 2001. Played over 350 matches and scored around 220 goals. Participated in various international platforms and won numerous medals. He is in the team of winning a Gold medal in 2004 Olympics, two gold medals in 2010 and 2014 WC, 6 gold medals in Champions trophy, 3 at Commonwealth Games, and 2 at Oceania Cup. He also plays for several domestic leagues and currently plays in Melville Toyota League for YMCC City Hockey club. He has coached junior hockey players at the YMCC Coastal City Hockey Club in 2011 and 2019.

2. Teun de Nooijer

Teun Floris De Nooijer played for the Netherlands national field hockey team. Made his debut in the year 1994 in a friendly match against New Zealand. Since then he had played nearly 400 hockey matches for his side. In the years 1996 and 2000, he was in the Dutch squad who became a two-time champion in the Olympics and was in the team during the 2012 Olympics. In 2003, 2005, and 2006 he was named as the best hockey player in the world and 6 times Champions Trophy Winner. He is also playing in a few domestic leagues all over the world. Currently, he is the coach of the HC Bloemendaal Women’s team and also playing for the Hockey India League for UP Wizards.

1. Dhyan Chand

Major Dhyan Chand is regarded as the greatest sportsperson in history. Played for the Indian hockey team internationally from 1926 to 1949. He was known for the goal-scoring feats and scored 570 goals in 185 matches. During his era, the Indian team has dominated the sport of hockey. Through his game, earned 3 Olympic Gold medals in 1929, 1932, and 1936. Also, the Indian hockey team won 7 Olympics out of 8 between 1928 and 1964 when he was playing for the team. Through his ball control, known as “the Wizard or the magician of hockey”. Awarded with the Padma Bhushan in 1956 by the Indian Government and his birthday which is on 29th August, India is celebrated as “National Sports Day” every year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *