Skip to content

Top 10 Best Badminton Players in the World

10. Chen Long

Chen Long is a Chinese professional badminton athlete popular for being a two-time World Champion, All England Champion and presently triumphed Olympics winner. He is known to have achieved 31 singles titles, besides two BWF World Tour titles, two BWF Super Series finals titles and ten BWF Super Series Premier titles and eight BWF Super Series titles. He has a ranking of 4th in badminton worldwide as per the Badminton World Federation (BWF). He has won a bronze (2012) and gold (2016) medals in the Olympics Singles Games and won 2 gold medals (2014,2015) and 2 bronze medals (2017,2018) in the World Championship Games.

9. Ratchanok Intanon

Ratchanok Intanon is very well known to be the first Thai woman who had reached the Number one rank worldwide in badminton women’s singles. She is primarily known for her ease of hitting movement and brilliant footwork, which the commentators call “balletic.” Ratchanok Intanon has been a world champion in the year of 2013. She started her career off by winning the BWF World Junior Championships consistently three times, which also made her achieve the Best Female Athlete Award in Thailand. She is also known to be the first Thai singles athlete to have won the Asia Championship (2015) held in China.

8. P. V. Sindhu

Pusarla Venkata Sindhu is an Indian born competent badminton athlete who had entered the international badminton stage in 2009 and rose to a spot ranking of No.2 in the world in 2017. Throughout her career, she has achieved to win medals in many tournaments and Olympics, BWF circuit, and a gold in the 2019 World Championships. She has been the first Indian to become the Badminton World Champion and achieve a silver medal in the Olympics. P.V. Sindhu won her first super series title at the China Open (2016), which added to four more in 2017 and titles in South Korea and India. She has achieved a silver medal each in the Commonwealth Games and Asian Games (2018). Sindhu was given the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and the Padma Shri for her excellent sports performance.

7. Viktor Axelsen

Viktor Axelsen is a Danish-born badminton athlete, known for being the World Champion in 2017 and a bronze medal winner in the 2016 Olympics. He also won the World Junior Championships in 2010, making him the earliest European athlete to grasp that title. He was rewarded as the European men’s singles champion in the years 2016 and 2018. Axelson won his first Grand Prix title during the Swiss Open in 2014 and a bronze medal in the European Championships of 2012 and 2014. He is ranked in the 4th spot in the recent world Rankings by BWF.

6. Anders Antonsen

Anders Antonsen, a Danish-born badminton athlete popular for his gold medal, won in the 2015 European Junior Championships and was awarded the prize of being the European Young Player of the Year Award in the same year. He was the winner of the Minsk European Games in 2019 and a silver medal winner in the European Championships in 2017 and World Championships in 2019. Anders Antonsen achieved to win the National Championship three times consequently from 2017 to 2019, also winning the BWF World Tour championship. He holds the 13th spot in the World rankings by BWF.

5. Chou Tien-chen

Chou Tien-chen, A Taiwan born badminton athlete who performs for Chinese Taipei. He is known to be the most prior local shuttler in 17 years who won a men’s singles title of the Chinese Taipei Open in the year 2016 after Fung Permadi won it in the year 1984. During the 2014 Yonex French Open, he won his earliest BWF Super Series championship. He has a maximum record of winning the Bitburger Open Grand Prix Gold medal for a consecutive of 3 times amidst the years of 2012 to 2014. He has been a silver medalist in the Asian Games (2018) and a bronze medalist in the Asian Championships (2019). Chou Tien-chen has the 6th spot in the recent BWF World Rankings.

4. Akane Yamaguchi

Akane Yamaguchi is a popular Japanese badminton athlete, known to play for the Kumamoto Saishunkan team, and is known to be the earliest Japanese athlete to have held the 1st spot in the BWF women’s singles rankings. She has won the National Championships 3 times (2010,2014 and 2017) and the BWF Super Series Finals (2017). She has also won a gold medal in the Asian Games of 2018. Yamaguchi has a bronze medal in the BWF World Championships in the year of 2018. She is more prominently known for her BWF Junior Championships, where she has 2 golds and one silver medal.

3. Chen Yufei

Chen Yufei is a Chinese-born badminton athlete popular for winning the girl’s single junior crowns in the Asian and World Junior Championships in 2016. She held her first senior crown at the Macau Open Grand Prix Gold. In 2019, she reached the 1st spot ranking position in the BWF World Rankings, making it her career-defining moment. She had two bronze medals in the BWF World Championships in 2017 and 2019 and a bronze and a silver in the Asian Championships in the years 2019 and 2018, respectively.

2. Tai Tzu-ying

Tai Tzu-Ying is a Taiwan competent badminton athlete who, during her young age of 21, held the 1st ranking spot in the women’s singles in the BWF World Rankings in the year 2016.
She was a gold medalist in the Asian games of 2018 and Summer Universiade of 2017.
She has a history of winning consecutive Asian Championship entitlements, the Superseries Finals and All England Open.
She achieves a gold (2018) and a bronze (2014) medal in the Asian Games and two golds and one bronze in the Asian Championships in 2018, 2017 and 2015.

1. Kento Momota

Kento Momota is a Japanese competent badminton athlete acknowledged for his talented and relentless playing in the badminton court. He is known to have won many championships adding the two World and Asian Championship entitlements and an All England entitlement. He won her first crown in 2019, which was the German Open, and in the same year, he won the All England Open entitlement. He reached the rank of World Number 1 in the men’s singles in the BWF World Rankings. He is also a 14-time BWF tour winner,4-time BWF Super Series winner and two-time BWF Grand Prix winner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *