Skip to content

How Many Rounds in the FA Cup?

The FA Cup, officially known as the Football Association Challenge Cup, holds a special place in the hearts of football fans around the world. It is the oldest national football competition, steeped in history and tradition. In this comprehensive guide, we will take you through the structure and nuances of the FA Cup, shedding light on the various rounds that teams must navigate to reach the pinnacle of this prestigious tournament.

Origins and History of the FA Cup

The FA Cup was established in the 1871-72 season, making it the oldest association-affiliated soccer tournament in the world. It has been played every season since, with the exception of the years during the two World Wars. The inaugural edition was won by Wanderers FC, who dissolved in 1887. The competition has seen many different sponsors, and it is currently known as the Emirates FA Cup. Arsenal is the most successful club in FA Cup history, with 14 championships to their name.

The Structure of the FA Cup

The FA Cup is a knockout tournament that welcomes teams from across the English football league system, from the elite Premier League to lower divisions. The competition consists of 14 rounds, each designed to test the mettle of participating teams. Let’s break down the rounds of the FA Cup:

1. Extra Preliminary Round

The Extra Preliminary Round is the starting point for clubs at Levels 9 and 10 of the English football league system. It offers smaller clubs a chance to showcase their talent on a grand stage.

2. Preliminary Round

The Preliminary Round is for clubs competing at Levels 7 and 8 of the English football league system. It marks the entry of more established non-league sides into the competition.

3. First Round Qualifying

Clubs at Levels 5 and 6 of the English football league system enter the First Round Qualifying. The competition intensifies as teams strive to progress.

4. Second Round Qualifying

The Second Round Qualifying sees the inclusion of clubs from Levels 3 and 4 of the English football league system, adding further complexity to the competition.

5. Third Round Qualifying

At the Third Round Qualifying stage, the FA Cup welcomes teams from League Two and the National League. Lower-league teams face off against their more illustrious counterparts, shaping the competition’s narrative.

6. Fourth Round Qualifying

Clubs from League One and the Championship join the fray at the Fourth Round Qualifying, making the stakes even higher for the participants.

7. First Round Proper

The Premier League clubs make their grand entrance in the First Round Proper. This is when the competition garners immense attention and the potential for David vs. Goliath battles arises.

8. Second Round Proper

The Second Round Proper features the winners from the First Round Proper matches, continuing the journey for those who have already advanced.

9. Third Round Proper

The Third Round Proper is the stuff of legends, often producing the most memorable upsets. Teams from lower divisions get the opportunity to face Premier League giants, creating history on the field.

10. Fourth Round Proper

Teams that triumphed in the Third Round Proper contests move on to the Fourth Round Proper, where the competition reaches its boiling point.

11. Fifth Round Proper

The Fifth Round is the last stop before the quarter-finals, with the remaining teams battling fiercely for a coveted spot among the top eight.

12. Quarter-finals

The quarter-finals feature the winners of the Fifth Round Proper matches. The race to Wembley Stadium intensifies as the road to the final becomes shorter.

13. Semi-finals

The semi-finals are a pivotal moment in the FA Cup journey. The winners of the quarter-final matches secure a place at Wembley and a chance to compete for the ultimate prize.

14. Final

The culmination of the FA Cup, the final is the pinnacle of the competition. The victors of the semi-final matches go head-to-head in a thrilling contest that captures the hearts of football fans worldwide.

Table: FA Cup Structure

RoundParticipating Clubs
Extra Preliminary RoundClubs at Levels 9 and 10 of the English football system
Preliminary RoundClubs at Levels 7 and 8 of the English football system
First Round QualifyingClubs at Levels 5 and 6 of the English football system
Second Round QualifyingClubs at Levels 3 and 4 of the English football system
Third Round QualifyingLeague Two and National League teams
Fourth Round QualifyingLeague One and Championship teams
First Round ProperPremier League clubs
Second Round ProperWinners from the First Round Proper matches
Third Round ProperMemorable upsets and clashes with Premier League giants
Fourth Round ProperTeams that advanced from the Third Round Proper
Fifth Round ProperTeams battling for a spot among the top eight
Quarter-finalsWinners of the Fifth Round Proper matches
Semi-finalsTeams competing for a place at Wembley Stadium
FinalTwo victors from the semi-final matches

The FA Cup Draw and Its Intricacies

The magic of the FA Cup doesn’t end with the matches on the field; it begins with the draw. The FA Cup rounds are drawn randomly, allowing for the potential of dream matchups and unpredictability. However, there is one key rule to keep in mind: teams from the same division cannot face each other until the Third Round Proper. This regulation ensures that underdogs from lower divisions have a genuine chance to challenge higher-division teams, creating some of the tournament’s most iconic moments.

The FA Cup Calendar

The FA Cup season spans from August to May, providing a year-long spectacle for football fans. The qualifying rounds take place in August and September, while the First Round Proper unfolds in January. The famous Third Round Proper is played in January or February, followed by the Fourth Round Proper in February or March. The road to Wembley continues with the Fifth Round Proper in March or April, and the quarter-finals occur in April. The semi-finals are held in April, and the journey culminates with the final in May.

The FA Cup Venues

The venues for FA Cup matches are predominantly the home grounds of one of the two teams involved in each fixture. The intimate atmosphere of these stadiums adds to the magic of the FA Cup. However, the semi-finals and the final are played on the grand stage of Wembley Stadium, providing a fitting backdrop for the tournament’s climax.

Image: Wembley Stadium

Wrapping It Up!

The FA Cup is a truly unique and special competition. Its inclusivity, rich history, unpredictability, and magic are what make it one of the most prestigious football tournaments in the world. From the grassroots to the grandest stages, the FA Cup embraces the spirit of the sport, offering opportunities for clubs of all sizes and backgrounds to create moments that will be cherished for generations.

With its structure, rounds, and the potential for upsets, the FA Cup captures the imagination of fans and players alike. It remains a symbol of tradition and excitement in the world of football, bringing together teams from all levels of the English football system to compete for glory. So, tune in and experience the drama and passion of the FA Cup as teams battle for a place in history.

Remember, in the FA Cup, anything can happen. It’s a competition that showcases the true essence of football, where underdogs can become heroes and dreams can become reality. Don’t miss out on the magic of the FA Cup!

Table: FA Cup Winners – Most Championships

ClubNumber of Championships
Manchester United12
Tottenham Hotspur8

Table: FA Cup Winners – Recent Years

2019Manchester CityWatford
2018ChelseaManchester United
2016Manchester UnitedCrystal Palace

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *